Conditions of entry to Russia by citizens of Turkey

According to the Executive Order of the President of the Russian Federation No583 dated November 28, 2015 “ On measures to ensure Russia’s national security and protection of Russian citizens against criminal and other illegal acts and on the application of special economic measures against Turkey”, as well as item 1, Article 10 of the Agreement between the Government of the Russian Federation and the Government of the Turkish Republic on Terms of Mutual Visits by Citizens of Russia and Turkey of May 12, 2010, the said Agreement is suspended with regard to trips by citizens of Turkey in possession of ordinary foreign passports.

The holders of ordinary foreign passports must obtain visas in Russian diplomatic and consular missions abroad.

Turkish citizens who entered Russia before January 1, 2016 can stay and leave the territory of Russia on valid travel documents without visas provided their continuous stay in Russia does not exceed 30 days starting from the entry date.

The above measure does not cover the following categories of Turkish citizens:

  • Those who have temporary or permanent residence permits on the territory of Russia;

  • Those who hold valid special and service passports entering Russia for the period of up to 30 days;
  • those citizens of Turkey, holders of special, service and ordinary passports, who have been assigned to diplomatic representations and consulates of the Turkish Republic on the territory of Russia, and their family members;
  • holders of sailors passports provided they enter by crew list or extract of it.